Why do I need a reservation?
It guarantees you the date and time you planned on. Rather than unexpectedly finding that we are booked solid and unable to accommodate you. Your payment will secure your slot, and insure that we will be ready to officiate your ceremony as promised. We do have a cancellation policy.
Do I have to bring the wedding license to the wedding?
Yes! I must verify that you have a license for the marriage to be legal. If I do not know you, both of you must also bring identification to the wedding.
What do I need to do after the ceremony to validate the marriage license?
Nothing. It is the my responsibility to complete the license and return it to the court where it was first issued within 5 days of the ceremony.
How long is the ceremony?
It is up to you. All that is legally required in the way of vows is that each party must state that he or she accepts the other in marriage. Most ceremonies take between fifteen and twenty minutes, but it depends entirely upon what you choose to include.
Do you offer Pre Marital counseling?
Unfortunately no. This service may be available soon, but in the interim if you need a referral please let me know!
Is there a cancellation fee after we sign the contract for your services?
Will you be staying for the reception?
That is entirely up to you. If invited, and if my schedule allows, I may be able to attend. However, do not feel obligated to invite me. I realize that for catered events, the hosts must pay for each person in attendance.
How long in advance should I reserve my date?
There is no specific booking requirement. I can perform weddings with as little as a twenty four hour notice and since some people would rather save the money they would have spent on a formal wedding by eloping, I am happy to work to make even last minute ceremonies special. If, however, you are booking a venue and inviting out of town guests, it is wise to book as far in advance as possible.
I have an out of state friend or relative that wants to perform the wedding ceremony, but is not an ordained minister or licensed to do so in the Commonwealth?
The current law just requires me to make the pronouncement "I now pronounce you Husband and Wife", and sign the marriage license. If you have someone that would like to do the ceremonial part, let me know and we can work something out!
What do I need before I can be married in the state of Virginia?
You need to obtain your marriage license. We do not provide them. A license for marriage in Virginia is issued by the clerk or his/her deputy clerk of a circuit court in any county or city in the Commonwealth of Virginia.
What will you wear to perform the ceremony?
If it is a formal event, and the men are all wearing tuxedos, I will also be wearing a tuxedo unless specifically asked not to do so, in which case I will be wearing a dark suit. Please note that an extra charge will apply for tuxedo rental. Please do not feel that ordering a boutonniere for me is necessary. If it is a semi formal affair I will be wearing an appropriate suit. In any case, I do not ever wear judges or religious robes.
What are the marriage license requirements?
$30. Photo ID. No waiting period. No Witnesses. No residency. No blood test. Marriage license is valid for 60 days from date of purchase.
How many witnesses do I need?
No witnesses are needed.
Why the difference in your pricing?
Virginia law sets a fee of $50 for a basic wedding ceremony. Our wedding packages includes this cost and meets this requirement. As of July 1, 2014, THE LAW WAS CHANGED, and now allows negotiated additional fees for additional services such as rehearsals, processions, readings, ethnic traditions, etc. The cost in services reflects the amount of work that goes into each ceremony and additional administration cost. Some of our officiants work full time and do this on the weekend, so that equates to additional time needed to take off of work to attend rehearsals and craft the perfect ceremony script that is as unique as the couple they are marrying.
What marriages are prohibited?
Age requirements and consent?
The minimum age for marriage in the Commonwealth of Virginia is sixteen (16) years for both parties; however, if either party is under eighteen (18), consent to the marriage must be given by the father, mother or legal guardian. This may be done in person by the parent or legal guardian before the person issuing the license or by written consent properly sworn to before a notary public. Special provisions are made in Virginia law to allow marriage for under age parties when the female is pregnant and for situations in which under age applicants have no parent or legal guardian.
Is it okay to tip you?
Tipping is a matter of personal preference. It is a token of appreciation for a service rendered, or given as a way of thanking someone for a job well done or for good service. For this reason a gratuity is always welcomed but never required. There is no expectation that a tip will be offered, and this in no way will reflect negatively on my view or quality of service!
Do you have any samples of wedding ceremony scripts?
Yes, we do! You won't find any posted on this website, as these scripts are uniquely written for a particular couple and are designed for a special day that most have been waiting for their entire life. Forever-Agape doesn't feel that it is in the best interest of our customers to allow such an intimate ceremony, vows, and declaration of love to be seen by others.